Just Chance? Or More..?

Have you ever experienced something where seemingly random things “speak” to you in some way that’s very relevant to you at that particular point of time?

To illustrate: I’ve recently been trying to choose between two options, but haven’t been able to decide one way or another because both options have some pros and cons, and I’m not really able to pick one option over the other. So, I’ve been stuck at this point for a few days, going nowhere. Then, I come across this:

(Source: xkcd.com)

Coming across the above webcomic when I did, it was as if it was published specifically for me – it was just so appropriate to what I was going through, and the timing of it…

This isn’t just an isolated incident; I’ve witnessed similar ones at different points of time, in different contexts.

My question is: Have you ever had such an experience? What do you think these “random” incidents mean? Do they mean anything at all?

Are they just a coincidence?

Or are they an attempt on the universe’s part to tell us something?

Or is it simply a matter of awareness? That these things happen to us all the time; it’s just that, normally, they pass us by silently, but when we are thinking about them at a conscious level (or even a subconscious one) we just notice them more?

If you’ve never thought about this before, there’s a possibility that, as you think about their meaning (or lack thereof), you may uncover an aspect of your belief system that may be new to you.

For example, my personal opinion is that it’s the universe’s way of guiding us. And on introspecting on my reasons for feeling that way, I realized it’s got to do with my belief in a higher power. Not necessarily God, but some force, some energy that we don’t yet know of or understand, that rules over the entire cosmos. Maybe Science can explain it one day. Maybe it is indeed God. I don’t know. But I do believe in that unknown power. I realized that I need that belief to make sense of, and deal with, this world and the things that happen to me – both the good and the bad.

Of course, you may disagree, and that’s totally fine. Sometimes, even I doubt if it isn’t arrogant to think of oneself as so important that the universe would somehow “do” something for one person. But then I think: who am I to judge what the truth is? When Science itself is not sure of the true nature of reality, how can one exclude anything from the domain of possibilities?

Anyway, I digress.

The idea is to answer the question: “What does this ‘randomness‘ of events mean to me?”, for oneself, and discover what one will.

I like introspecting on stuff like this as it helps me better understand my thoughts and take them further. As I came across that comic, I thought I’ll share it with anyone else who might be interested as it seems like a decent enough “prompt” to get that dialogue going. And if you already  have those, you can treat this as a “practice exercise”… 🙂


BTW, apart from all the above serious discussion, another way in which that webcomic was of interest to me: it’s always a nice feeling to realize that everyone faces the same dilemmas – our thoughts and concerns remain more or less the same, across the world. Another reminder of the oneness of all beings.


I’d love to hear about your “chance” experiences and what you made of those. Maybe we can help each other discover new things, or see things differently. It’s all about sharing and learning! And if you liked this post, don’t forget to share it too!

Leave a Reply

