A Better World

The world we live in can feel like a rough and tough place sometimes. We are all just trying our best to deal with this life that is given to us. We have our fears, we have our hopes. At any given point of time, it’s difficult to say what is going on inside a person’s head, but you can be sure that a lot is going on.

At times, all one can do is keep hold of all this chaos. And that may well be the greatest thing that person does in her entire life.

Don’t get me wrong – my intention is not to belittle any other achievements of that person, past, present, or future; I simply want to emphasize the weight that somebody may be carrying, which we may know nothing about.

On such occasions, sometimes, even the smallest and the most inconspicuous acts of kindness, of compassion, of basic humanity can be just what somebody needs at that point. Any action causes ripples. Who knows how or who will be affected by one good deed? That one thoughtful act may be the highlight of someone else’s day.

Not everyone needs to go and do big, showy, heroic deeds everyday. Not everyone can. If you can, great! Would you please let me know where you learnt this magic? Does that place accept a Muggle? 🙂

What each of us can do is, do the small things, one at a time. A smile here, a patient ear there, some forgiveness in between. That’s all I’m asking for. It doesn’t take anything, apart from a few seconds, but still makes the world a better place. It maybe by the tiniest of amount, but better nonetheless. Plant those seeds, and see them flourish.

I won’t say that this will bring world peace, or remove poverty, or save the planet. But I do believe that actions carried out with good intentions have a ripple-effect, and what goes around, comes around. Plant the right seeds. You may not see them flourish, but the winds will take them where they need to go.

And if not for somebody else, do it for yourself – I know I feel good when I think I’ve been of any help to anyone. I’m assuming you do too.


I would love to hear if you have any such small, easy, quick-to-do “tips” that you would care to share with me and the other readers. If you do, please post them in the comments section. If you have any other thoughts on this blog, or any other topic that you’d like to talk about, post those too! I’d love to hear voices other than those in my head 😉

Leave a Reply

