Advice For A Parent

First of all, let me come clean: I’m not a parent myself, so maybe I can’t see a parent’s point of view. But I have been a child [some say, myself included, that I am one, even now 😉 ] and have wanted to say the following to parents (to some parents anyway):

The best thing a parent can do for their children is to not try to control them. Advise them, share your experiences and knowledge with them. Be there for them when they fall, because they will. But give them the freedom to make their own mistakes; teach them how to learn from their mistakes and not repeat them. You might think you can protect your children, but you can’t, not really – you can just prepare them.

Let them dream, let them dare. Let them define what they can do, and what they can’t.

Don’t stand in the way of their destiny.

Leave a Reply

